Tom Lalampaa- Board Chairman

Tom Lalampaa is KWCA Founding Chairperson. He has a MBA in strategic management, MA in Project planning, BA in social work, and Management from the University of Nairobi and currently pursuing his PhD.

Tom is a member of the West Gate Community Conservancy in Samburu County and the Chief Programs Officer at the Northern Rangeland Trust.

Tom has over 10 years of management experience gained from working on conservancy management, community development and fundraising at NRT.  He is the 2013 TUSK Trust Conservation award winner awarded in September 2013 by His Royal Highness The Duke of Cambridge and a host to US Congressional staff in May 2011.

Tom has been recognized for his outstanding contribution to the development of northern Kenya’s communities, conflict resolution and sustainable conservation of wildlife and brings on board a wealth of hands on experience in managing wildlife through host communities.

Donald Bong’osa Mcharo- Vice Chairperson

Donald Mcharo is the chairperson of Taita Taveta Wildlife Conservancies Association, Mgeno Ranching Company and Mwachabo Development Forum. He retired from the Ministry of Finance, Customs & Excise department as the Assistant Commissioner of Customs in 1994, having worked for the ministry for 27years

Kathryn Combes- Vice Chairperson


John Kamanga- Board Member

John is the coordinator of Southern Rangelands Association of Landowners (SORALO) and chairperson of the Olkiramatian Group ranch. He was awarded the 2013 Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden’s Wildlife Conservation Award.

John has coordinated conservation, tourism development and research within the SORALO region covering over 2 million acres within the Rift valley floor working to connect the Maasai Mara and the Amboseli ecosystem.

Benson Leyian- Board Member

Benson Leyian holds a Bachelor of Science in Leadership and Management from Strathmore University.  He is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya.

Benson is the representative of the Amboseli communities in Kajiado County where he serves as a General Manager of Amboseli Ecosystem Trust, a position held since 2011.

Josephine Ekiru – Board Member

Josephine is a member and chairlady of Nakuprat-Gotu conservancy in Isiolo County. She is an environmental conservationist and is proactive in anti-poaching campaign through music and community education.

Josephine has been proactive in leading the efforts of reforming poachers turning them into active conservationists. She is also engaged in peace campaign in Northern Kenya which led to her being awarded during the Kenya at 50 celebrations for her outstanding peace efforts.

Evans Kandie- Board Member

Evans Kandie holds a Bachelors Degree in Hotel & Hospitality Management from Moi University. He has worked as the General Manager of Crater Lake Sanctuary & Conservancy in Naivasha for 5 years.

Evans represents conservancies within the larger Central Rift Valley where he has been an active conservationist in both Baringo and Nakuru Counties. Evans is a co-founder of the Rift Lakes Wildlife Conservancies Association.

Daniel Sopia- Board Member

Daniel Sopia is a professional Safari guide with over 12 years experience. He has a Bronze and Silver certification from the Kenya Professional Guides Association and has worked with Rekero Camps in the Maasai Mara Ecosystem.

He is member of Motorogi conservancy, Board member at Olare Motorogi conservancy Trust and a vice-chair Olpurkel Ltd. He is a co-founder and chairperson of the Maasai Mara Wildlife Conservancy Association. Daniel represents conservancies in Narok County

Silvery Ochola Gaa- Board Member

Mr. Ochola holds a Bachelor of Education degree from Makerere University College having graduated in 1967. He is the chairperson of Gwasi Hills Forest Conservation Association for the past 12 years. He has 37 years of teaching experience in Secondary schools and teachers training colleges.

He was Principal at Mirogi Boys Sec. School, Dean of curriculum at Asumbi T.T.C and Dean of students at St Paul’s T.T.C. He has severed in the B.O.G of Tonga Boys for 16years as the chairperson. Mr Ochola represents conservancies in Nyanza and Western Kenya.

Joseph Rotich- Represents of North Rift sub-region of the Western region

Joseph holds BA in Political Science and Public Administration from the University of Nairobi, a Diploma in Human Resource Management, Project Management and Community Development. He has a Certificate in Conflict Resolution and Management.

Mr Rotich is the founder of Masol community wildlife conservancy in West Pokot County. He is the CEO of the African Rangeland Trust an organization that champions conservation, promotes community based alternative livelihoods and peace building in the Pastoral areas.

Anne Kahihia- Treasurer- representing Kenya Wildlife Service


Grace Nderitu-Representing private Sector Eco-tourism


Hussein Gona –Representing NRT Coast


Steve Wathome- Representing Athi Kapiti


Peter Ereng- Representing NRT North


John Kamanga- is the secretary




Our Mission

To work with landowners and communities to sustainably conserve and manage wildlife and their habitat outside formal protected areas for the benefit of the people of Kenya.

Our Vision

A Kenya in which people and wildlife coexist in mutual benefit.